2007 Annual Dinner 



Annual Dinner - Feb 2nd 2008

On Saturday, 2nd February 2008 Hyde Heath Cricket Club held its annual dinner and dance at Harewood Downs. Golf Club. For a number of reasons the date of this function was three months later in the calendar than usual, with the probable consequence of a reduced attendance. Nevertheless, the small, but beautifully-marked, group of H.H.C.C.stalwarts who were present, appeared intent on enjoying themselves, none more so than chairman John Capper, who persisted in demonstrating his "welshness" by wearing, a red scarf at all times, even when sitting down to dine.

But, before that, it was time to renew auld acquaintance, to relish the warm clink of the wine glass, to discuss last season's results and individual averages and to present a single red rose corsage to each lady who had catered for Club teas in 2007.

And so to a pleasant dinner which was followed by a brief speech from the chairman in which he thanked the committee for its work during, the previous year and in particular his wife, Caroline, for her sterling efforts at the "big weekend last June. Groundsman Mike Thompson was given a special mention by preparing the square for eventual play when the weather forecast was not in favour, and skipper Charles Samuels for all his work, both on and off the field, mostly off, due to his bad back.

In his turn Charles spoke of the difficulties of managing the team from China, and with his physical ailment. He then announced the winners of the various trophies which were presented by retiring president, Colin Heck, and they were :

Batting, Cup ... Henry Capper ... for his consistent performances with the bat, culminating, in an unbeaten century at home to Longwick.

Bowling,Cup ... Alistair Richards ... for always looking- dangerous when he had the ball in his hand and returning an average in single figures.

Fielding, Cup... Simon Napier-Munn ... for consistently demonstrating, a safe pair of hands in the field, particularly at Petts Wood.

Outstanding Performance ... Alistair Richards ... for taking, a hat-trick against Ballinger Waggoners in his opening spell of 8 overs, 5 maidens, 7 runs, 6 wickets.

Young Player of the Year ... James Shrimpton ... for all-round improvement, especially in batting where he was second in the averages.

Captain's Cup ... Matthew Sims ... for his organisation of an excellent tour to Kent.

President's Cup ... Mike Thompson ... for all his good work on the ground.

Duck Cup ... on countback it was calculated that it should be shared between Charles Samuels & and Tim Nutman..

So, with the formalities completed, it was time to dance to The Dennis Ruff Wall of Sound, playing. those perennial cricketing, favourites..."Soul Limbo" (Booker T.), "Dreadlock Holiday" (10 c.c.) and "Mambo no.5" (Lou Bega). The evening was over all too quickly,, but thanks to all those who had made it possible and we look forward to the 2008 season Dinner & Dance .

Robin Richards

Top of Page               2007 Statistics              2007 Match Reports                 Home